Introducing: 'The AMaGAs'

AMaGA's annual awards program is dedicated to celebrating, acknowledging, and showcasing achievement within Australia's museum and gallery sector. Throughout the long history of this peer-reviewed initiative, we have shone a spotlight on excellence in the sector, ranging from publications and branding projects to exhibitions and public programming.

Continuing the redevelopment work announced in 2023, we’re excited to reveal the latest evolution of the Awards. The integration of the previous MAGNA and MAPDA programs is now complete and unified under a single banner: The AMaGA Awards (affectionately referred to as 'The AMaGAs'). This consolidation aims to streamline the nomination process and enhance accessibility and community engagement for sector recognition. Like our museums and galleries, these awards will continue to evolve over time to mirror the shifting priorities of AMaGA, our members, and the wider sector.

The AMaGAs have been meticulously designed not only to honour and promote continuous improvement and growth but also to serve as a platform for inspiring and acknowledging social impact and innovation across the collecting sector. We invite you to participate as we continue to elevate and celebrate the achievements of Australia's vibrant museum and gallery community.

Awards Portal

The Awards Portal serves as your resource for everything related to the AMaGA Awards. The Portal contains information on eligibility criteria, nomination guidelines, fees, and direct links to the application process.

Access the Awards Portal

 Award Categories

 Project Awards

  • Community Connection Award
  • Exhibiting Excellence Award
  • First Nations Project Award
  • Social Impact Award
  • Art of Expression Award
  • Digital Interface Award
  • Excellence in Print Award
  • e-Excellence in Print Award
  • Kids in Print Award
  • Moving Image Award
  • Virtual Canvas Award


Occasional Awards

  •  Patrons Award

Important Dates

Call for nominations: 12 March 2024

Nominations close: 30 June 2024

Winners announced: 17 September 2024 (at the AMaGA National Conference)


Awards contact: [email protected]


National Awards 2024 - information session

Loading video